School Name Change Survey

School Name Change Survey
Posted on 08/21/2020
News Article ImageAs the Hanover County School Board moves forward with selecting new names for the schools formerly known as Lee-Davis High School and Stonewall Jackson Middle School, the Renaming Committee appointed by the board is conducting a poll to narrow down nominations.

The committee met Thursday to select 12-15 names for consideration for the two schools. Hanover County students, faculty, staff, parents, and other community stakeholders are encouraged to provide input on the 14 options here. The poll will stay open through Thursday, August 27.

The committee received more than 3,000 submissions from August 12 through August 19 and will consider multiple factors moving forward. School Board policy stipulates that schools cannot be named after any person (living or deceased), a disqualifying factor for many submissions. Rather, the policy lists geographic location, environmental features, and historical considerations as factors for consideration.

These are the options for the schools, in alphabetical order:

• Clearview
• Creek Run
• Dogwood
• Freedom
• Mechanicsville
• New Dominion
• New Haven
• Newcastle
• Pine Creek
• Pine Hill
• Pioneer
• Progress Point
• Twin Rivers
• Willow Branch

After the poll closes, the committee will review the results and the community will be polled again from August 28 through September 3 on three choices. The committee will submit a single name for the high school and a single name for the middle school for the School Board’s consideration at its September 8 meeting.

Once the School Board has chosen new school names, new mascots will also be selected. That is a school-based decision. More information about the mascot selection process will be shared as it becomes available.
Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2024 SchoolMessenger Corporation. All rights reserved.